Diploma Programme and Assessment


Diploma Programme and Assessment

Assessment of subjects is based on a combination of internal assessment and external examinations at the end of Grade 12. Within each subject examinations and internal assessments for Higher Level are more demanding than those for Standard level. 

  • Grade 11 and 12 students will sit a semester 1 exam in January.
  • Grade 11 students will sit end of year exams. 
  • Grade 12 students will sit mock examinations in their second semester and their final IB Diploma exams in May.

Each subject is graded on a scale of 1 (minimum) to 7 (maximum). Up to 3 additional points may be gained for performance in the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge. The maximum possible score is 45 points (6 x 7 = 42 + 3 = 45). 

Awarding of the Diploma:

The Diploma will be awarded to a candidate whose total score reaches or exceeds 24 points, provided that:

  • A course in Theory of Knowledge has been followed and the assessment requirements met.
  • An Extended Essay has been submitted and assessed.
  • The candidate has engaged satisfactorily in Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS) activities.

Failing Conditions

From the May 2015 session the following failing conditions apply:

  1. CAS requirements have not been met.
  2. Candidate’s total points are fewer than 24.
  3. An N has been given for theory of knowledge, extended essay or for a contributing subject.
  4. A grade E has been awarded for one or both of theory of knowledge and the extended essay.
  5. There is a grade 1 awarded in a subject/level.
  6. Grade 2 has been awarded three or more times (HL or SL).
  7. Grade 3 or below has been awarded four or more times (HL or SL).
  8. Candidate has gained fewer than 12 points on HL subjects (for candidates who register for four HL subjects, the three highest grades count).
  9. Candidate has gained fewer than 9 points on SL subjects (candidates who register for two SL subjects must gain at least 5 points at SL).